It’s finally time to announce my new album, A Different Kind Of Dream.

It’s been almost 2 years since my last full length album, Head Like Fire. I followed that up with … Like Ashes, a collection of bonus tracks and remixes of tracks from the Head Like Fire sessions. Then I took a break from writing new music while I continued to promote the music videos from that album. They were some of my most successful music videos ever, and a great excuse to take a break and focus on the rest of my life a little bit. But last year I started making some new music and I could tell it was going to form into something special.

The track-list:

  1. The Void
  2. Hero
  3. A Different Kind Of Dream
  4. Invisible
  5. Regenerate
  6. Searching Further
  7. Waterfalls In Reverse
  8. Enemy
  9. Ascend
  10. Palindrone
  11. Secrets (CD Only Bonus Track)
  12. Artificial (Sack Boy Video Remix) (CD Only Bonus Track)

I named this one A Different Kind Of Dream partially because it’s a cool name haha, but also because this is the beginning of a new phase in my career. You’ll notice this album is only 10 tracks when my previous have been a full length 16 tracks each. That’s because from now on (at least for the foreseeable future) I am not going to follow the standard release strategy that I’ve done in the past. Before, I modeled my release strategy after the artists I grew up loving… An album, possibly some extra songs/remixes in between, and then a few years later, another album. But with the way things have changed in the music business, it just doesn’t work anymore. I’m not exactly a rock star with millions of fans, but the people who do enjoy my music, haven’t gotten any new music from me in over a year until I released “Secrets” as a single around New Years. A year is a long time in this age of social media and streaming music. I need to stay relevant at all times, and my new schedule will reflect that.

Once A Different Kind Of Dream comes out on May 18th (digitally at first, soon after followed by a limited-edition CD release), I will already be well on my way to my next release, the “Artificial (Sack Boy Video Remix)” and its accompanying music video. I’ll also have a new 360 VR Music Video for “Palindrone” created by New Line Videography, the creators of my hit “Constellations 360” Music Video. After those, I already have another 10 songs in the works for another semi-full length release. After that I plan on releasing another single around Halloween, and then three compilation albums… One will be a compilation of all the previously release B-Sides along with new ones from the most recent recording sessions, and the other a compilation of some of the previously remixed remixes as well as new ones. After that, who knows. Anything is possible with this new plan, but one thing is for sure… I won’t be waiting years between releases any more. As I create new music I’m going to release it one way or another, one piece after another.

As always, the album artwork was done by Gina Mizzoni Photography (with some extra editing by me).

You can pre-order A Different Kind Of Dream at iTunes or Bandcamp (the limited edition CD is only at Bandcamp). I think you’re all going to love this album. It’s definitely some of my favorite music I’ve ever made and I can’t wait for you to hear it.


David Rosen is an award-winning music composer. He composes original music for films, commercials, jingles, video-games and all other kinds of media projects. He has a vast music library of original tracks available for licensing and is also available for custom compositions. Contact him on the ABOUT page for pricing and availability for your next project.